clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

The “Hulktastic Cup” looks to celebrate an Overwatch legend

New, 1 comment

This tournament is being held to honor the late Dennis “INTERNETHULK” Hawelka

After the untimely passing of Dennis “INTERNETHULK” Hawelka, the Overwatch community has been devastated. As a response to this terrible event, the community has organized the “Hulktastic Cup”, a for-fun tournament meant to honor Hawelka and his contributions to the Overwatch community.

The tournament will be held on Saturday, November 11th at 8 PM CET/2PM EST/11 AM PST on the GosuGamers Overwatch Twitch channel.

The tournament is not meant to be an example of the highest levels of Overwatch competitive play—instead, it’s meant to put some rag tag teams against each other in entertaining matches as the community comes together to celebrate Hawelka and everything he has done for the Overwatch community.

This is just one part of the ongoing effort to honor Hawelka and his contributions to esports. The /r/competitiveoverwatch community announced that they would be naming a yearly award after the player, who was noted for his ability to scout and encourage younger players.

Fans can send a letter of support to Hawelka’s family using the information provided below. Hawelka was set to begin coaching Team Liquid’s League of Legends tournament in the upcoming Spring Split.