clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

South Korean roster announced for 2017 Overwatch World Cup

The defending champions will return to the Overwatch World Cup with a very different roster than last year.

Blizzard Entertainment

Blizzard has announced the starting roster for South Korea, the defending World Cup champions.

Kim “Mano” Dong Kyu (Afreeca Freecs Blue)

Kim “Zunba” Joon Hyuk (Lunatic Hai)

Park “Saebyolbe” Jong Ryul (LW Blue)

Hwang “FL0w3R” Yeon Oh (LW Blue)

Yang “Tobi” Jin Mo (Lunatic Hai)

Ryu “Ryujehong” Je Hong (Lunatic Hai)

The roster was chosen by a committee of players as well as casters and coaches from around the South Korean Overwatch scene. The country kicked off much of the current professional Overwatch landscape with their Apex tournament which was last won by Lunatic Hai.

This will be the second Overwatch World Cup attended by South Korea after they won the event’s inaugural tournament last year. During that run to the championship the team never lost a game and defeated Russia in the finals. While that roster saw great success at the tournament, only Zunba will have the chance to represent his country for a second time at the tournament.