clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Blizzard has announced locations for the group stage of the Overwatch World Cup

Who will escape South Korea’s group?

Blizzard Entertainment

The Overwatch League’s first regular season has come to an end, and while playoffs are right around the corner, it isn’t too early to start looking at the next competition on the Overwatch calendar: the World Cup.

Just like last year, the World Cup will feature 24 Overwatch National Teams facing off against one another to prove which nation can claim the top prize as the best Overwatch playing country in the world. During the group stage, these teams will be divided into four different groups of six teams, with the top two teams from each group earning a trip to Blizzcon where the World Cup Top 8 will be held in November.

These group stage matches will take place all across the world and will feature a host country and five guests with each playing each other once, before each group hosts its own playoffs to determine the top two teams.

Here are all four group stage locations and dates, as well as the teams that will be competing there.

Incheon, South Korea, August 17-19

  • South Korea
  • Russia
  • Japan
  • Finland
  • Chinese Taipei
  • Hong Kong

Los Angeles, California, September 7-9

  • The United States
  • Canada
  • Brazil
  • Austria
  • Switzerland
  • Norway

Bangkok, Thailand, September 14-16

  • Thailand
  • China
  • Australia
  • Spain
  • Sweden
  • Denmark

Paris, France, September 21-23

  • France
  • United Kingdom
  • Germany
  • Netherlands
  • Poland
  • Italy